I’m just returning to work after a nice, long two and a half week break. It’s a bit painful, as such returns can be, but there’s still so much to look forward, so I’m comforting myself with these thoughts. Like the first snow, which we’re still waiting for and which will prove difficult to commute in with a big belly and a three-year old, but which will delight Catherine and make it especially cozy to snuggle up indoors.

Plus, the holidays behind us and the first trimester sickness increasingly so, I am only just now getting my healthy eating mojo back – just in time for New Year’s Resolutions. I have lots of resolutions that I didn’t bother to tie to the New Year. I won’t bore you with my list, but everyone knows healthier eating and January go hand in hand. Today, I took a green smoothie and leftover homemade pot roast to work. I feel good. I’m hoping processed Starbucks breakfast sandwiches and gummy candy are behind me for a while.

The bump.  It’s big.  I can’t believe I have 4 months of jeans and bras and this belly ahead of me. So after wearing worn black leggings literally every single day for two weeks over my break, I exchanged a maternity sweater Chris bought me for Christmas for a very expensive and very comfy pair of Rosie Pope jeans. Let’s just say they made my first day back at work soooooooo much better!

Our baby.  She is moving plenty. And I love it. It’s the best part of pregnancy, for sure. Supposedly, she’s the size of a butternut squash, but I think those produce comparisons are silly. Her kicks are getting stronger and stronger. At night, sometimes I wake up to her kicks, and I just lie there drifting back to sleep with my hand on my belly. She seems to kick where I place my hand.

Chris.  He’s very excited. Just like last pregnancy, the second trimester has provided some much-needed relief for us both, and we’re enjoying life to the fullest. The holidays were wonderful. He gave me a sweet card that I wanted to read over and over again because it made me happy, because I could have written what he wrote. Of course with Catherine in the mix, we don’t have near the time to spend together that we did last pregnancy, lest I sound too sappy. But we both know life is good and we’re enjoying it together. I feel grateful for him.

Catherine.  She’s busy looking forward to her new role as big sister, and delighting Chris and me to the ends of the earth. We adore her. To us, she’s a perfect child. Her antics are so funny and touching and frequent that I feel overwhelmed when I set out to write about them.

I’ll stop here. Well, okay, a couple more things. Chris’s insurance changed (for the better), and thus so did our doctor! We will now be seeing the obgyn and delivering in the hospital I originally wanted.

Tata for now.

