I know I should focus on the wedding, but I’m actually really excited about Catherine’s 1st birthday too.  I don’t want to go too crazy and obsess over the details the way I have with this wedding.  Instead, I want her first birthday to be a celebration of her amazing first year in this world, as our baby, and Chris’s and my first year as parents.  I want us to spend time with family and friends, do something fun, and eat birthday cake.

That said (and here I go again)…here are some things I’m thinking.

I already have her dress.  It’s a pink party dress I got for $6 on clearance when she was just 3 months old.  When I think of a classic little girl’s birthday dress, this is the dress I think of.

I am going to make her cake.  I’m hoping I can pull off a 3-tiered cake.  It will be a healthy cake.  But also a delicious cake.  I’m thinking about a banana cake with classic white frosting and pink scalloped edges.  It’s only fitting since her favorite food in the entire world is bananas. I think this will be a good opportunity to shock people with how “unhealthy” a healthy cake can taste.

I don’t want to spend too much time indoors on her birthday, and we don’t have a yard.  So I’m thinking this will be the PERFECT day for Catherine’s first visit to the zoo!  She’s already very interested in the world around her, and noticing things off in the distance more than she used to.  She’s become a little bird watcher.  She spots them in trees and in the sky.  Maybe she’ll have excellent vision like her dad.  So I think a big trip to the zoo will be so much fun!

I haven’t booked our honeymoon yet (which isn’t really a honeymoon because C is coming with us), but I think it might make sense to leave the Monday after her birthday party for Costa Rica.  That way we’ll have had plenty of time to focus on the wedding and first birthday party, meanwhile looking forward to our getaway!  I seriously can NOT imagine leaving for our honeymoon the day after our wedding.  I liked the idea of it, but I have been so consumed with the wedding and Catherine, I have had zero time to even think about a honeymoon.  Having the honeymoon almost 2 months after the wedding gives us a little time to actually look forward to it.

That’s all! Just thinking out loud.

