IMG_4036I could go on and on about breastfeeding.  It’s the most obvious and perfect decision I could have made – as if it were even a decision I needed to make, to feed my baby the way nature intended.  But I’ll just say I love it.  I love how easy it is now, I love the bond I have with Catherine through it, and I love seeing her chubby thighs and knowing I did that with my body!  I love the calm, almost euphoric feeling I get because of the endorphins breastfeeding releases in my body.  Even when I’m not breastfeeding, I still get these sudden bursts of happiness throughout the day.

But we’re also having fun introducing fruits, veggies, beans, and grains into Catherine’s diet.  She’s had oats, millet, brown rice, and farro (at first blended separately with breastmilk, and now blended together with homemade applesauce, bananas, blueberries, or raspberries.  She’s had all kinds of veggies – beets, asparagus, broccoli, sweet potatoes, squash (kabocha, summer, butternut), leeks, carrots, and so on.  The other day, I was making lentil soup for Chris and me, and I made Catherine her own lentil soup in my smallest pot using lentils, onion, garlic, parsley, potatoes, carrots, celery, and a little water (leaving out the salt and sausage).  I pureed it and she loved it!  It was naturally sweet from the vegetables and she ate it up.  It takes so little effort to freeze batches of pureed food for days I don’t get a chance to cook, too.

UPDATE: I thought of something to add here.  I love to cook and have been cooking dinner most nights for years.  So it is easy for me to cook Catherine’s meals for her.  For someone who doesn’t enjoy cooking, I can imagine it’d be more of a challenge to make all of baby’s food.  Taking a few weekend days and roasting/steaming-pureeing-freezing fruits, grains, and veggies in ice cube trays then storing them in tupperware so you can grab, mix, and match is a pretty simple solution I think.  A cube of applesauce, a cube of beets, a cube of oatmeal, and you’ve got a tasty balanced meal. 🙂  The applesauce and beets actually taste delicious together!

