IMG_3064I said we’d wait until Catherine was 6 or 7 months old, or until she snatched an apple out of my hand (meaning when she told me she was good and ready in her own way). Well, I kid you not, she literally grabbed my half-eaten apple from my unsuspecting hand as we sat on our blanket at a “mommy meetup,” pulled it to her mouth, and sucked on it happily for about 10 minutes. This was a couple of weeks ago.

IMG_3068Then, at my cousin’s wedding(!) (Sara was SUCH a beautiful bride!) weekend, Catherine stared greedily at everything everyone ate and tried to grab food from my plate. This sort of thing has been going on for a while, and basically I just knew it was time for her to begin exploring the world of food beyond boobies…below, her first bite…

IMG_3032And the reaction…

IMG_3039I plan to make her food myself. Since I cook all the time anyway, it is really a no-brainer. I can easily set aside her food to puree before anything non-baby friendly is added to it (salt, sugar, etc.).

Something I did not realize before Chris gave me a “babyfood” cookbook is that I can easily make my own baby cereal instead of buying baby cereal from the store. All you do is process whatever grain you choose (I used steel-cut oats the first time because that’s what I had) into a powder, then whisk it into simmering water until it’s cooked through, then add a little breastmilk to thin it out. Voila! Baby cereal.

IMG_3040IMG_3060She ate it right up, much of it going on her bib of course. (BTW, the spoon is the one Aunt Terree gave me years ago for Christmas that just happened to have a “C’ on it!) Here she is looking for more cereal.

IMG_3076After that, we went to the farmers market and bought lots of organic whole grains – millet, farro, oat groats (sadly, the whole arsenic finding has me paranoid about my very favorite grain, rice! although I’ll still cook with it, just in moderation) – along with dried lentils and chickpeas. I am so excited about introducing her to the world of food and giving her the healthiest start possible! She had millet tonight.

My plan is to slowly introduce whole grain cereals and vegetables – butternut squash, zucchini, carrots, peas, etc. – and use fruits moderately. I’ll probably use bananas, apples, and pears to sweeten “stronger” veggies like beets. This is my plan, but we will see what Catherine has to say about it.
IMG_3072I just love her sweet face!

IMG_3079

