Dear Baby,

This note will be quick because your mom still has lots to do before bed.  I just wanted to let you know what we’ve been up to this weekend, while you’ve been hanging out in my belly practicing your karate kicks and punches.

Before that wall was there, there was just a railing.  It was all open and you could see down into the living room and kitchen.  Very cool-looking, but we were really worried about you learning to crawl and making us nervous getting close to the edge.  We also needed a wall to put your crib and dresser against.  Plus, you will need a little privacy once you arrive, we thought.  So, we built this wall, which can easily be taken down if we change our minds.

I should say, your Daddy and your Grandpa James built the wall.

And I am very grateful!  We have some talented men in our family, don’t we?

While they were working, your Grandma Margaret and I had so much fun picking out the perfect paint color for you!

Here’s Grandma relaxing for a second and reading.

And here I am with your daddy testing out paint samples!  I LOVED doing this!

We still haven’t decided which color we’ll use, but we’ve narrowed it down to three: a very subtle, airy pink; a soft lavender; and a pale butter yellow.

Anyway, the main thing I wanted to say was that the thought that kept coming to my mind throughout the weekend, as your dad and Grandpa worked and worked all day, and your Grandma and I hung out and shopped and obsessed over paint colors and supervised the men, was this… Look at all this trouble everyone is going to for our sweet little girl who is in my belly kicking me right now.  All this for one teeny, tiny little girl who is already so loved and eagerly anticipated.

Well, that’s all for tonight.

Love,

Your momma and daddy

