I’m pretty sure our baby will be born in June, since she’s due June 22 and our doctor won’t let us go more than one week overdue without inducing. She will either be a Gemini or a Cancer.  I was curious what her birthstone would be.  There are several acceptable birthstones for June babies, so she can have her pick.  According to this poem,

Who comes with summer to this earth

And owes to June her hour of birth,

With rings of agate on her hand

Can health, wealth, and long life command.

But according to modern standards, her birthstones are alexandrite, pearl, and moonstone.  I want to get her a little pearl baby bracelet.  My nieces Bella and Abby both started wearing bracelets and bows as newborns, so by now they’re used to them.  Abby won’t even leave the house without her accessories, and Bella doesn’t seem to notice her soft stretchy headbands with flowers as she pushes her toys all around the house.  Like ladies should be, they seem totally at ease with feminine adornment.  Meanwhile, I’m always worried about clutter, or trying too hard.  I think embracing accessories is fun!  But I can’t seem to fight my minimalist nature.  There’s something so perfect about a naked baby.  Do you hear my internal struggle?

