Work got SUPER busy, and here I am 24 weeks pregnant and I never did a 23-week update.  Oh well.  The past couple of weeks have been awesome.  Between a starting a new job I truly love, turning 30 surrounded by my amazing family, coming home every night to Chris, and knowing that all the while our daughter is growing inside me… I am truly taking in these precious moments every single day, and making sure they get more of my attention that the inevitable stressors life presents alongside them.

I feel there are so many unknowns, (and they are so impossibly unknown), that there’s no use trying to predict the future and I ought to just enjoy the moments, even if I am, as I said before, a blissful little sitting duck.

Highights from the Week…

Radiohead

Last night, Chris took me to the Radiohead concert. Now, I love Radiohead, but Chris loves them more than me; they’re his favorite band.  When I say he has good taste, this is one thing that comes to mind.  When we listen to the haunting Pyramid Song at home or in the car together, I feel like we’re sharing a moment.

Even though I felt a little out of place being pregnant, I was surprised at how much I loved the concert.  I stood there with Chris’s arms around me and my eyes closed and my arms around my belly soaking in the slow, hypnotizing music and feeling our daughter kick.  It was a wonderful, relaxing experience.  And our daughter has now been to her first Radiohead concert!

Work

There’s nothing like calmly engrossing yourself in work that is actually fulfilling.  Granted – I’m talking about email blasts and case studies and pitch presentations here – not exactly “important” in the grand scheme of things.  But it’s writing, which I love.  And the clients are right up my alley; they’re very “food” related.  The agency is a good size for me, around 300 people total across 3 cities, one of which is Bogata, so I’m surrounded by Spanish speakers which I love!  The pace is perfect, there are slow days when I can catch my breath, and fast-paced days when I feel like my brain is going to explode but it’s kind of a thrill!

I’ve only been here two weeks, so we will see how everything works out. In the meantime, I do hope my co-workers don’t see my baby bump as a “handicap” or sign I should be handled with kid gloves.  I want in on as many opportunities as possible while I’m here.  I don’t know how I’ll feel come June 22, so I want to enjoy this right now.

Birthday

About turning 30, I feel sort of an acceptance. That’s the best way I can think to describe it.  I did all the fun things a girl should want to get out of her system while in my 20s, including making lots of mistakes!  No one wants to say goodbye to their 20s, but I do want to say hello to a wiser, slightly different version of myself who is about to be married with a baby.  I also know there’s not a damn thing I can do about turning 30, so why in the world would I bother to lament it?

My family went above and beyond to make my 30th birthday so, so special.  Chris took me to a delicious dinner Thursday, then we spent the weekend with my family.  To my surprise, they’d all pitched in to create a scrapbook full of their best memories with me through my first 30 years.  Reading through the book was incredibly touching and it’s something I’m going to treasure forever.  They also caught me off guard by one by one toasting me and saying something they loved about me.  I bawled.  It was so special though.  I have replayed some of the things they said in my head since, just because they were so wonderful.  I can’t remember a better birthday.

So as not to overwhelm you with too much content in one post, I’m breaking this update into two.

