Yet another terrible pic. I really need to remember to get Chris to take some pictures of me when I am actually dressed.  I am disappointed in the number of photos I have to document this pregnancy when I am actually presentable and smiling at the camera.  But, at least I am taking something, so I can see the progress.

Baby’s Size: She’s apparently the size of a mango this week.  Now, how did she go from the a spaghetti squash to a mango?  A spaghetti squash is double the size of a mango at minimum.  These fruit and veg comparisons are silly, I tell ya.

So, let’s go with, she’s about 11.5 inches long, according to Baby Bump.  I can’t remember how long the doctor said she was when we went last week.

What I miss:  Okay, I’ve got a genuine one this week.  I started a new job as a copywriter for a digital agency.  The agency culture is definitely one of building camaraderie over drinks (during and after work).  However, I, of course, can not drink.  Nor do I feel like going out to bars after work right now.  Nor will I feel like doing that when I have a newborn at home waiting for me, either.  So, it does sadden me a little to think I’ll be missing out on this aspect of bonding with coworkers for some time to come.  My life is definitely in a different stage, now.  And I wasn’t quite sure I was ready to let that go.  Then again, maybe I am.  I want a good healthy social life with great friends, and I know people do this with children, of course!  I just won’t be hopping on the Fur Bus anytime soon, I suppose.

What I don’t miss: Drinking.  Yes, I’ve said I missed it from time to time.  And it’s true that a tropical drink in a lounge chair by the ocean somewhere would be AMAZING right about now.  But on Valentine’s Day, after hearing plenty of trustworthy advice that the occasional small glass of wine is okay, I allowed myself to have a small glass of cold, bubbly champagne.  I sipped it slowly while watching a movie with Chris.  It was nice!  But then, without even a buzz, I was done.  And I didn’t want anymore.  I felt ever so slightly disappointed with myself for having the champagne and breaking my fast.

Test number 2: It was my third day on my new job (yesterday).  My team was called into a meeting.  We’d just lost the client account I’d been hired to work on.  #$%@!  Despite promises from leadership that we had some big projects “in the pipeline” and to try not to worry while they figure out the implications, naturally everyone was worried, and immediately, the entire team left, dragging me with them, for the Irish pub next door to begin drinking their sorrows away.  It was 11am.  I nursed a small glass of white wine, while my new coworkers pounded beers.  I didn’t enjoy the wine.  I felt it wasn’t even worth it.  So, I think that will be all for my wine tasting while pregnant.  Maybe, if I’m out at a really nice dinner and I want a nice glass of wine, I’ll have a little.  But I guess alcohol wasn’t all I remembered it being, and my enjoyment of it was certainly dampened by the feeling ingrained in me that pregnant people aren’t supposed to drink.

About my  new job – well, I was immediately put on some pitch work – and that’s how I’ll spend my Saturday (awesome).  Despite this chaos, I absolutely love the agency and the people so far!  And considering my condition, I am praying everything works out.  I can truly say that even though I haven’t discussed it on this blog much, I have had THE craziest career life since becoming pregnant.  It’s not what I thought work would be like while pregnant.  I thought I’d be settled into a nice cushy job with great benefits and some stability.  Instead, I’ve chosen/been forced into rocky, unpredictable, constantly having-to-adapt environments where all I can do is put my head down, work hard, and do this while still being excited about my baby to come.

I have to say – despite my occasional breakdowns and frequent complaints, I think I’ve handled it very well and I deserve to be proud of myself.  It isn’t easy to search for and start new jobs while experiencing first trimester flu-like symptoms.  So, this Mommy is patting herself on the back.

Who knows, maybe this is good training for how flexible and adaptable I’ll have to be when our daughter arrives.

What I’m looking forward to: 1. Everyone at work knowing about my pregnancy (I have somehow hidden it thus far) and just being my pregnant self with no apologies.  Make no mistake, the working world is not easy for pregnant women.  2. Deciding on a name!  We’re working on it slowly but surely – but will NOT be revealing the name until she is born, so you can ask but we are not telling. We strongly prefer it this way.  The name is a very personal thing, and I never anticipated I’d be so protective over it.  But, I am.

Best moment of the week: Hmm. There were actually some pretty great moments at work this week!  My first day, I took a walk and had lunch with some coworkers, and really enjoyed their company.  Then yesterday afternoon, as everyone was leaving for the weekend, I was getting put on a project and I kind of enjoyed the urgency of the situation.  I tend to thrive in more “urgent” work environments versus a laid back environment.  It gives me a sense of being on a mission and makes my work so much more rewarding.  So I hope there are more of those to come.

That’s all for now!  Have a good weekend everyone!

