Baby’s Size:  She’s………a spaghetti squash!

Weight Gain:  Who’s counting?

Symptoms:  Lots and lots of kicking and moving in there!  She gets bigger and stronger every day.  The movement is my favorite part of pregnancy so far.

Oh – has anyone heard of round ligament stretching?  I had, but I didn’t pay much attention to it.  But last night, while showering, I started to feel a dull ache (like period cramps) in my pelvic, abdominal, and lower back regions on the right side, which quickly turned to sharp pains.  As the pain got increasingly worse (I actually called Chris and laid down on the bed for a little bit) I started to feel worried (what if this was preterm labor; what if I was miscarrying?) but I also knew it might be this round ligament stretching I’d heard about.  So I texted my sister while googling like crazy, and between the two determined that’s exactly what it was, and it went away after about 30 minutes and I haven’t felt it since.  When we go for our ultrasound on Tuesday (Valentine’s Day!) I’ll ask about it just to be sure.

What I miss:  Long runs.  I’ve kept running throughout my pregnancy, though not as frequently as I did pre-pregnancy.  I gave up the 12 milers long ago though.  I run about 6 miles, around 3 days per week (as I say that I feel really bad and wish it were more).  But Friday, I headed out for my usual run and ended up walking home.  Something just didn’t feel right.  I was having that dull ache in my abdomen.  It wouldn’t go away, so I just walked home.  I know so many pregnant women run throughout their entire pregnancies, so I’m going to try a light run again and see how I feel.  In the meantime, if I’m not so lucky to be able to keep running, I’ll keep doing other forms of exercise, like floor exercises, swimming, and walking.  And I’m only going to be pregnant for 4 more months, so I don’t think it’s a big sacrifice to make for that short period of time.  I can’t wait to dress my baby girl up in her own little running outfit and take her with me in the running stroller, though!

What I’m looking forward to:  It’s a year and 3 months away, and not pregnancy-related – but I am looking forward to our wedding.  Our focus has been on the baby and my little sister’s wedding, since they’re both coming first.  But after all we’ve been through together, to have a day especially for proclaiming, honoring, and celebrating our love for each other will be so nice.

As I said above I am REALLY looking forward to taking our baby out in her stroller and showing her the world.  So much so that I’m inclined to take a stroller (which we don’t yet have) out with us when we go on walks.  I don’t know what we’d put in it… a baby doll?  Okay, that’s just weird.  But yeah, I’m itching to push her in her stroller.

Best moment of the week:  No doubt about it.  Chris coming home.  I have been so happy this weekend to have him back!  Last night, we were lying on the sofa together.  I’ve noticed that our baby will not be moving, but when you put your hand (even lightly) on my belly, she will kick where your hand is.  Now, how is she doing that?  Does she feel the warmth?  I don’t get it.  Anyway, I had Chris put his hand on my belly and sure enough, she started kicking.  And not just little kicks.  Like, karate kicks.  She was showing him what she could do!  We fell asleep that way.  These are definitely the moments happiness is made of!

 

