Happy Midway Point!!!!!  As of Friday, February 3, 2012 we are 20 weeks pregnant, and halfway to meeting our daughter!

Here’s the 20 week rundown:

Baby’s Size: She’s as long as a banana.  This girl is getting BIG!  It’s so hard to believe.  Until she starts kicking, that is.  Then I have no doubt she’s getting bigger and stronger.

Weight Gain: Again, I haven’t even stepped on the scales.  I don’t want to know.  But I’ve gained weight for sure.  Still holding on to my regular jeans though!  They sit low so I’m able to get away without even having to use a belly band.  I’ll hold out as long as I can.  The goal is now to buy ZERO maternity clothes (aside from a belly band).  With spring not too far away, I’m hoping I can get away with belly-friendly dresses.

Symptoms: I’m a little more sentimental than usual.  I get (happy) tears in my eyes while watching sappy commercials or tv shows or looking at baby clothes.  Physically, I feel wonderful.  Full of energy and shedding the last of my food aversions.  The second trimester definitely is awesome.  For all you poor pregnant women in the awful first trimester, unless you’re a very rare case, you will feel better soon, I promise.  So hang in there.

Other symptoms?  Constant kicks and jabs coming from my uterus.  Our baby is a mover.  I don’t know if she’s moving because she’s mad, or just playing around, or what.  But she moves aLOT.  And I love it.

Also – my belly is getting bigger, as you can see from the pics.

What I miss: I can’t say that I miss this… but I was reminiscing the other day about a time in my life when I was single and lived alone in a little apartment in Atlanta.  During this time in my life, I was “the sole captain of my ship” and thought of no one but myself and Meeks.  My life was very full; I went out with friends during the week and on weekends, was training hard for triathlons, met lots of new people, cooked little meals for myself at night, had spring cleaning Saturdays, put whatever girly throw pillows I desired on the sofa, studied hard for the GMAT (which I aced), and just felt totally in control in general.  I will always be grateful for this time in my life, because I can say “no regrets.”  My life will now never be the same as it was then.  I can still have a rich, full life filled with fun and accomplishments of course!  I just won’t have the same selfish freedom.  So, I don’t miss this time.  I just look back on it fondly, with gratitude, and look forward to new (and even better) chapters to come.  As a quote from a little tea bag once said (and I never forgot it), “Love what is ahead by loving what has come before.”  Towards the end of my time in my apartment, I met Chris.  It’s oddly comforting knowing he knew me then.  Like he’s a connection to my past, and it won’t ever be so far away.

Best moment: So many this weekend, actually.  Chris has been in London for work all week, and won’t be back until Friday.  This weekend I headed down to Macon to spend some time with my sister and brother-in-law, and my niece Abby and nephew Nolan.  We had a great weekend, but a few things in particular stand out.  They are:

Superbowl Sunday – Mary and I went through Abby’s old baby clothes, and she sent me home with so much stuff!  It was very bittersweet looking through those old clothes.  I remember Abby wearing them so clearly.  It made me realize just how fast they grow up, and I wanted time to slow down.  I hope that seeing our girl in the clothes will give me a little comfort because it will be so sweet that these were a gift from my beloved niece to my daughter.  But right now it still makes me sad to look at them!  Anyway, it was nice to go through them with my sister.

After going through the clothes, Zach, Mary, and I totally rallied and between the three of us produced the most awesome superbowl feast.  We made grilled buffalo wings, caesar salad, spinach artichoke dip, corn dip, and chocolate chip bars.  Not very healthy, I know.  But delicious!  Laurie (other sister) and Joey (her fiance) came over and we all enjoyed watching the game and eating too much.

Other moments – Each morning, getting woken up by Abby (who is now almost 3 but acts much older) padding into my room and climbing under the covers with me to snuggle, before insisting I wake up and make her cereal.  I love her insistent, perceptive little personality.  She wears me out at times with her inexhaustible energy – then, as soon as I drive away I miss her like crazy!

Then there’s Nolan.  Nolan is 3 months old, but since birth has had the sweetest little intense eyes that appear wise beyond his age.  He is one of the sweetest babies I’ve ever seen.  Every time you walk over to him, his face just lights up!  He stares and stares at me and smiles so easily.  He’s a huge cuddle bug.  He’s happiest being held and snuggled.  As busy as the weekend was (especially with a 3-year-old in the mix too), I felt like I got to know him better and vice versa during my time there.

Alright – I’m anxious to get going and take care of some work I need to do.  Hope you enjoyed the update (if you made it this far, congrats!)!

