Hi!  Okay… Time – you have my permission to slow down!  I was in such a hurry to get out of the first trimester, but the second trimester is fun and I’d like to stay here for a while.  I have moments when I’m so excited about our little girl that I can’t wait for June 22.  But more often, I feel there’s so much to do to get ready for her that we need all the time we can get.

In just one week, we’ll be at the halfway mark. This is just crazy! In celebration 20 weeks, next week I plan to have someone take a real picture of me wearing actual clothing instead of pajamas or yoga pants.  For now, well, I’m 19 weeks (+1 day) and at least I managed to get a picture. 🙂

Here’s the 19-week rundown!

Baby’s size: A small cantaloupe. Can you believe that? Well, of course you can, that’s what happens to babies, they grow. But I personally cannot believe my little poppyseed is a cantaloupe. Except when I feel her kick and roll around in there; then I know she must be getting pretty big.

Weight gain: Honestly? I haven’t stepped on the scales in a while. There’s a reason for that. I’m scared the ice cream and carbs may be catching up to me. I just don’t want to know.

Symptoms: There have definitely been some emotions and some worry about becoming a mom. I’m not so worried about the mom part, that part I think would come naturally, but I am worried about the juggling part – juggling normal life stresses with being a mom… and still managing to be a calm, present mom despite the other things I have to deal with when I’d rather just be focusing on my baby… if that makes sense.

Other symptoms… a general lack of focus. A little more ADD than before.

What I miss: nothing too much. Every so often I think a stiff drink might be nice. lol.  Sometimes I also think it’d be nice to leave my pants buttoned when sitting down at work.

Best moment: I had a great Sunday last week. My friend Shelley and I took a long walk around Piedmont Park in the cold, muggy weather and just chatted and chatted. From there I went straight to a coffee shop and sat all cozy and warmed up with a cappuccino and one of my favorite foods of all time – a toasted cinnamon raisin bagel with cream cheese.  While sitting there, I wrote an article for work, which actually went smoothly.  The entire time, my baby kicked and kicked, as if to keep me company.

Other good things in general – Chris has been there for me like never before. He has reached down deep inside himself and amazed me with this new patience he has for me.  I test it again and again (not on purpose) and he remains patient and reassuring.  He’s been so attentive and caring.  I feel grateful to him all the time.

Also, today we spent our entire Saturday (again) on a mission to find the perfect crib and dresser for our baby girl.  We found something, then got home only to find out it won’t work in the space we’d planned for it.  So the hunt continues.  However, we did figure out our bedding and color scheme.  I’ll have to do a post once we get the baby’s things here and arranged.  For now, I’ll just say that the baby area will be mostly white, very fresh and calm feeling, with hints of pale yellow and pale pink.  I’m sure it will make more sense once you see it all come together.  We’re registered (really, more like in the process of registering) on Amazon and Pottery Barn Kids, and I think that will be all we need to do as far as registering goes.  Honestly, our registry is more like an inventory of things we need, for us.  It just helps us see what we need to get and what we have checked off the list.

Anyway, I’m exhausted and feeling a little nauseated because I ate an entire bag of cherries, I think…? Time for bed!

 

 

