I had my second ultrasound today!  Sadly – very sadly – Chris was has been in California since Sunday for work.  He really needed to go, and I understood.  I have missed him from the moment he left though, and I was very sad to go to my doctor’s appointment alone.  I’ll be so glad when he’s home next Friday.  We’ve never been apart for 2 weeks before, and I don’t want to make a habit of it – AT ALL.  I also don’t want him to miss another appointment.  I don’t care if I have to reschedule, I don’t want him to miss out on this experience with me.  That said, I’m so glad he isn’t in the military, because I know of many people who have dealt with much more difficult and longer separations.  It has to be so tough.

But on to our baby. 🙂  On the way to my appointment, I got in a car accident.  Well, a fender bender.  It was my fault – the first time I’ve caused a fender bender since high school, thank you very much.  But it was enough to knock the wind out of me, and I hit my head on the steering wheel and had a bruise and swollen lip.  I immediately started crying uncontrollably.  I went in to my appointment in somewhat of a traumatized state, worried about the impact to my stomach and wishing more than ever that Chris were there.

It was kind of awful.

Then, I saw my baby on the monitor.  And burst into more tears.  But these were tears of happiness.

 I know to most of you, this picture looks like any other ultrasound pic. 🙂  But to me, I see the sweet little curve of my baby’s neck, it’s baby ears (do they look kinda big to you? Maybe it has Chris’s ears?), its long spine, its cute little butt…

Whereas with the 8-week ultrasound, I felt curious and unsure, today I felt something closer to love.

I have been falling asleep to the most wonderful pregnancy app ever!  It’s called Positive Pregnancy with Andrew Johnson.  It talks me (almost hypnotizes me) into the most peaceful sleep each night.  I fall asleep thinking of my baby.  I recommend!

Baby’s Sex: Using the nub theory, my doctor says he is 75% sure I am having a… GIRL!  We will see though.  We’re not buying a thing for the baby until we find out for sure at 20 weeks.

Baby’s Size: He or she is the size of a plum.

Total Weight Gain: None

What I Miss: Right now – Chris! 😦  Pre-pregnancy: Energy.

What I’m Looking Forward to: Second trimester, starting to tell people the good news, and finding out the sex of the baby for sure.

Best Moment of the Week: Getting the pictures of the baby, and sending them to Chris and hearing his reaction was so special.  He said “More!” and “That’s amazing. It’s shy” (referring to the fact it wouldn’t show its face) and “Awesome.” Now, if you know Chris you know that emotions and enthusiasm over text or chat are rare.

Also, hearing his voice when I first told him about the “75% girl” thing… it sounded so sweet and happy.  Then he immediately went into “We need to pretend he never even said that!” mode.  You know, because it could change.

(Actually, I’m so glad it didn’t show its face. That way, the first time I see its face, Chris and I will see it together.)

Another highlight of the week was Sunday when my sister, brother-in-law, niece and nephew came to visit around the time Chris left for the airport.  They helped make it easier to say goodbye to him, and I love spending time with them.

